SAP Knowledge Base Article - Public

2305693 - What happens to assigned training and history when a user is deactivated?

Symptom

This article outlines what happens to a user record when it is deactivated either manually or via connector.

Environment

SAP SuccessFactors Learning

Resolution

When a user is manually deactivated via the Learning user record there is no change.

When a User deactivated via the connector:

  • Learning plan > All items are removed except any survey.

    • Note:

      • The completed items will not be removed from the "Assigned Items" and the "Completed Items" tabs.
      • The incomplete items will be removed from the user’s learning plan.

  • Learning History > Remains.
  • Curricula > Removed.
  • Classes they may be enrolled in > The enrollment status changes to canceled and the item is removed from their learning plan.
  • Programs > Removed.
  • Learning activity > Item removed from the learning activity in BizX and the Learning plan in Learning.

In relation to connectors, the following parameter can be configured.

  • Navigate to System Administration > Configuration > System Configuration > CONNECTORS.

If the User Connector-SF is being used, then search for "sfuser.connector.inactiveRule.cleanDevPlan".

If the User Connector is being used, then search for "user.connector.inactiveRule.cleanDevPlan".

Connector parameter behavior:

  1. If set it to "Y": The connector maintains its current behavior (it removes all objects from the users' learning plans).
  1. If set it to "N":

Learning history > Remains.
Learning plan > All items remain.
Curricula > Completed items under the curricula remain.
Class > Removed from the learning plan.
Program > Completed and incomplete items, texts, links, etc. remain.
Learning activities > Items stay.

Note:

The information provided above holds true for manual and bulk assignments outside of assignment profiles. It is important to remember that inactivating a user might change other attributes of its record (like domain or organization, for instance), depending on your business processes.

If those users deactivated were part of assignment profiles, they might become excluded from the target population of the assignment profile. Then, the next time the synchronization happens, trainings/roles/curriculum/libraries that were assigned to the users will be removed regardless of how they were deactivated.

As always, the best practice recommends to try this out on sample users in your test system first. Once you are satisfied with the results, proceed with the mass deactivation in your production system.

Keywords

lms, learning, termination, terminate, user, deactivate, users, deactivations, inactivate, plan, behavior, inactive, delete, purge, remove, associated, training, drm, inactiveRule.cleanDevPlan, course, behavior, assigned , KBA , LOD-SF-LMS-CON , Connectors , LOD-SF-LMS , Learning Management System , LOD-SF-LMS-ITE , Items , LOD-SF-LMS-USR , User Entity , How To

Product

SAP SuccessFactors Learning all versions