After a presentation is shared with users, are the users to whom the presentation was shared with, able to edit it?
Image/data in this KBA is from SAP internal systems, sample data, or demo systems. Any resemblance to real data is purely coincidental.
SAP SuccessFactors Presentations
After Q1 2019, when sharing a Presentation, the presentation's owner (creator) will have the ability to grant editing permissions to others, so that they can edit the shared Presentation.
To edit shared presentations, users must have enabled the permission "Manage Presentation". This permission is a prerequisite to edit Presentations, and even though the Presentation's owner can grant editing permission to users that do not have this permission enabled, they will not be able to edit the presentations on their end, and will receive the warning message: "You do not have permission to edit this live slide".
How to grant "Edit" permissions for shared presentations?
The option to grant editing permission for users to whom you are sharing the presentations with, will be available in the popup window that opens when you are sharing a presentation.
After selecting the users to whom you will be sharing the presentation, the option "Edit" will be available:
How to edit a shared presentation?
To avoid having multiple users editing a presentation at the same time, the users have to lock the presentation before editing it, and unlock it when finish editing.
- In the shared presentation, an "open padlock" icon will be displayed:
- Click the icon > A warning message is displayed:
- To proceed, click "Lock";
- Now a "closed padlock" icon will display in the presentation:
- Open the presentation and edit as needed.
- To unlock the presentation, after editing, click the icon > Unlock:
- Once the presentation is unlocked users will not be able to edit the presentation.
NOTE: Presentations created by users inactivated afterward, can only be accessed if the presentation was shared with someone else at the time the user was active in the system. The Presentation would then, be accessible by the recipient of the shared presentations. If the presentations were not shared, at the time the user was active in the system, it is not possible to see them by another user. To see the Presentations created by the inactive user, is necessary to reactivate the user and share the presentations, granting edit permission, with other users.
edit shared presentations, b1902, enable, permission, Q12019, lock, locking, locked, You do not have permission to edit this this live slide, PRS , KBA , LOD-SF-PRS , Presentations , How To