You are merging two accounts using Data Cleansing which have Notes associated with it. After merging the accounts the creator of the Note of the survivor account is changed to the User who has merged the accounts.
Account 1:- Notes created by User 1
Account 2:- Notes created by User 2.
When Account 2 is merged into Account 1, all the Notes also gets Merged however author of the notes of the survivor Account 2 reflect as who has merged the accounts instead as original author User 2.
Reproducing the Issue
Login with HTML5 client.
Go to Data Cleansing work center
Select New button
Select Customers to Merge
Select Actions button
Select Initiate Merge
This is expected system behavior.
We have added this to our product backlog and will evaluate possible enhancements to address in one of the future releases.
KBA , SRD-CC , Cross Components , How To