SAP Knowledge Base Article - Public

2680385 - Service Categories Restriction not Working at Lower Levels


When you create a category at a certain level, you are able to access it at lower levels as well.


SAP Cloud for Customer

Reproducing the Issue

  1. Go to the Service Entitlements work center.
  2. Go to the Service Categories view.
  3. Open the Active Service Catelog.
  4. Choose the View All button.
  5. Navigate to the Catalog Structure facet.
  6. Choose the Expand All option.
  7. Here, at Level 1, you have maintained  the hierarchy as below:
  • Level 1 -> Process Category Type PC1(where PC1 represents Process Category Type ID)
  • Level 2 -> you have matained case Category as IC1(where IC1 represents case Category ID)
  • Level 2 -> Cause Category as CC1(where CC1 represents Cause Category ID).
  • Level 3 -> Cause Category as CC2(where CC2 represents Cause Category ID).
  1. Now, Navigate to Service workcenter.
  2. Go the the Tickets view.
  3. Open ant ticket.
  4. For the Process Category field, you can see one option PC1, select it.
  5. For the case Category field, you can see one option IC1, select it.
  6. For the Cause Category field, you are able to see both CC1 and CC2.

As CC1 is maintained at Level 2  and not Level 3, you are expecting only the CC2 to be displayed.


Such categories which are not maintained in the linear path are called independent categories and their purpose is that they can be used in all cases. The only restriction is that they will have to be under the same Process Category.


This is the expected system behavior.


Process, Object part case cause activity wrong , KBA , LOD-LE-CSM-SIC , Service Issue Category , LOD-CRM-SRP-INT , Ticket Interactions , Problem


SAP Cloud for Customer add-ins all versions ; SAP Cloud for Customer core applications all versions