SAP Knowledge Base Article - Preview

3040984 - "The database log was *not* saved" during phase MAIN_DTTRANS/DOWNCONF_DTTRANS_BCK

Symptom

  • During an upgrade using Software Update Manager (SUM), the upgrade will not proceed in phase MAIN_DTTRANS/DOWNCONF_DTTRANS_BCK after selecting option "Backup completed":

    To reset the whole update now, proceed as follows:

    * Choose "Resume production operation" and click "Next"
    * Await the next dialog indicating that the system is up and running again.
    * Choose "Reset" from the "More" menu and confirm this decision during the
    upcoming dialog.
    01) * Backup completed
    02) - Resume production operation
    03) - Exit program
    : Backup completed
  • No error is reported on the SUM UI
  • The SAPupConsole.log shows the following message:
    *Note* : The database log mode will now switch to AUTOOVERWRITE.
    *Caution:* To be able to recover the current database state and avoid the risk
    of losing all data you need to create a log backup.
    Have you created a log backup of your database?
    The database log was *not* saved. If you want to continue the update create a
    log backup of your database now.


Read more...

Environment

SAP MaxDB

Keywords

DOWNCONFBCK.LOG , KBA , BC-UPG-TLS-TLA , Upgrade tools for ABAP , Problem

About this page

This is a preview of a SAP Knowledge Base Article. Click more to access the full version on SAP for Me (Login required).

Search for additional results

Visit SAP Support Portal's SAP Notes and KBA Search.